An EagerLED resource. Public-source references and technical guidance; not a binding quotation. Read our methodology.

Quick answer

For an event video wall, choose EA500H8 when 500×500 mm cabinets, front and rear service and H8-family mixed layouts fit the build. Choose EA1000C6 when 500×1000 mm cabinets, rear access through an openable back cover and C6 mixed splicing with EA500C6 fit the show. For a 4 m × 3 m upright wall, the cited examples need 24 EA1000C6 cabinets versus 48 EA500H8 cabinets. Confirm exact weight, protection and curve hardware in writing.

Sources used: EA1000C6 specs; EA500H8 specs; EA500C6 specs

Start with cabinet height and wall geometry

EA500H8 uses 500×500 mm cabinets for indoor and outdoor event video walls, while EA1000C6 uses 500×1000 mm cabinets for event and AV businesses. For the same flat rectangular wall, the taller cabinet reduces the number of rows. In the supplied examples, a 4 m × 3 m wall with upright 500×1000 mm cabinets uses 8 columns and 3 rows, or 24 cabinets; the same wall with 500×500 mm cabinets uses 8 columns and 6 rows, or 48 cabinets. Curved or mixed-size layouts need a separate cabinet plan.

Cabinet height affects more than row count. EA500H8 lists a 0.25 m² coverage per 500×500 mm cabinet, and its 500×500 mm cabinet uses 250×250 mm modules. The cited 4 m × 3 m wall therefore calls for 48 cabinets in the EA500H8 example. Plan case packing, locking points and spare cabinet quantities around the actual build rather than assuming one cabinet format scales the same way. For EA1000C6, request module size and exact cabinet weight if those affect your case and spare plan, because the supplied passages reviewed here do not state them.

Service access, handling and locking hardware

EA500H8 documents front and rear service: magnetic LED modules and a cabinet designed for access from either side let technicians service the screen to suit the installation. Its detachable back cover and power box use a quick-release buckle and HUB connection. EA1000C6 documents an openable back cover that gives technicians access to the power supply near the service door, with ventilation supporting heat dissipation. Ask the supplier to confirm whether the wall can remain rigged during service for the exact installation and rigging method. If front service access is required, confirm it for the exact cabinet and mounting arrangement; if rear access through an openable cover fits the venue, EA1000C6 describes that route. Confirm the service route in the installed orientation and the clearance it needs. Also settle whether the rigging method is hanging or stacking before finalising the cabinet choice.

Handling hardware differs in documentation. EA500H8 lists quick locks, handles and locating slots on a 500×500 mm cabinet, with a listed weight of 6.3 kg indoors or 6.5 kg outdoors. EA1000C6 lists a die-cast aluminum frame, stainless-steel locks and screws, aluminum-alloy handles, positioning beads, quick locks on the top and left sides, and four corner protectors. The supplied EA1000C6 passages reviewed here do not state a cabinet weight, so request the exact indoor or outdoor weight and the loaded case weight. Size the flight-case specification around the cabinet, quick locks, corner protection and spare parts you intend to carry.

EA500H8 and EA1000C6 documented differences

Decision EA500H8 500×500 evidence EA1000C6 500×1000 evidence What to confirm
Cabinet format and row count 500×500 mm cabinet; one cabinet covers 0.25 m²; cited 4 m × 3 m flat wall = 8 columns × 6 rows = 48 cabinets. 500×1000 mm cabinet; cited 4 m × 3 m wall with upright cabinets = 8 columns × 3 rows = 24 cabinets. Confirm cabinet orientation, wall dimensions, curves or mixed sizes; curved or mixed layouts need a separate plan.
Service access Front and rear service; magnetic LED modules; detachable back cover and power box with quick-release buckle; HUB connection. Openable back cover gives access to the power supply near the service door; ventilation supports heat dissipation. Confirm the service route in the installed orientation, the clearance it needs, and whether the wall can remain rigged during service.
Mixed splicing Supports mixed layouts with EA500H7, EA500H8V and EA1000H8; confirm connections, pixel pitch and control compatibility. Connects vertically with EA500C6 500×500 within C6 series; staggered C6 connections support asymmetrical walls. Name the confirmed partner, pixel pitch and control configuration before combining 500×500 and 500×1000 cabinets.
Curve hardware Optional high-precision curve lock; specify curved installation; confirm angle range and screen radius. Optional angle hardware supports concave and convex walls; confirm required hardware and cabinet layout. Confirm curve-lock inclusion, supported angle or radius and curved cabinet count.
Protection Indoor IP31; outdoor IP65 front and IP54 rear; plan protection for rear connections. Indoor IP31; outdoor IP65 front and IP54 rear; confirm installation conditions and weather protection for rear connections. State exact front and rear rating for the quoted indoor or outdoor model.
Brightness and pitch Indoor P1.56, P1.95, P2.6 GOB and P2.97; outdoor P2.6, P2.97 and P3.91; indoor 750–800 cd/m²; outdoor 4500–6000 cd/m², depending on model. All listed models at least 3,840 Hz, 14-bit grayscale and 140° viewing angle; brightness varies by model; pitch selection starts with closest audience, screen size and smallest text. Confirm exact pitch, brightness, GOB status and camera test settings for the quoted model.
Weight and handling Listed weight 6.3 kg indoors or 6.5 kg outdoors; quick locks, handles, locating slots and four corner guards. Die-cast aluminum frame; stainless-steel locks and screws; aluminum-alloy handles; positioning beads; quick locks on top and left; four corner protectors. Weight is not stated in the supplied passages. Request exact cabinet weight and loaded flight-case weight for each quoted variant.
Spares and quotation Detachable power box; confirm matching power supply, receiving card and spare parts when ordering a rental fleet. Ask for an itemized quote covering cabinets, control equipment, spares, packaging and freight. Keep cabinet, control and spare lines separate and confirm compatibility with the quoted cabinet.

Mixed splicing, curves and spare strategy

The named mixed-splice partners differ. EA1000C6 connects vertically with EA500C6 500×500 rental LED displays within the C6 series, and staggered C6 connections support asymmetrical LED walls. EA500H8 supports mixed layouts with EA500H7, EA500H8V and EA1000H8 cabinets. The supplied passages do not document EA500H8 paired with EA1000C6. For a wall that mixes 500×500 mm and 500×1000 mm cabinets, confirm the named partner, pixel pitch and control compatibility before treating the combination as a standard build. This is our purchasing advice, not a manufacturer requirement. Add mixed splicing to the quotation request so the partner cabinet is visible.

Curve hardware is optional on both formats. EA500H8 offers an optional high-precision curve lock; specify curved installation when requesting the quotation and confirm the available angle range and screen radius. EA1000C6 offers optional angle hardware that supports concave and convex LED walls; confirm the required hardware and cabinet layout for the curved stage display. A curve requirement should be a named line on the quotation, because optional hardware is conditional on the order and the planned layout.

Spare strategy follows the service design and cabinet count. EA500H8 has a detachable power box and HUB connection; confirm the matching power supply, receiving card and spare parts when ordering a rental fleet. EA1000C6’s itemized quotation request should cover cabinets, control equipment, spares, packaging and freight. For the same cited 4 m × 3 m wall, the 500×500 mm example uses 48 cabinet units versus 24 for the 500×1000 mm example, so plan spare cabinet count against the actual cabinet schedule rather than a single percentage assumption. Keep spare cabinets and spare modules on separate lines so the fleet can compare what is included.

Protection, brightness and camera performance

Both formats separate indoor and outdoor models. EA500H8 indoor models are rated IP31; outdoor models specify IP65 at the front and IP54 at the rear. Select the outdoor configuration for exposed venues and plan protection for the rear connections. EA1000C6 indoor models are IP31; outdoor models list IP65 at the front and IP54 at the rear. Confirm installation conditions and weather protection for rear connections with the project team. Select the outdoor model for outdoor events; indoor models should be specified for indoor venues. Protection ratings are model-specific, so state the exact front and rear rating on the order.

Brightness and pitch should be compared by exact model, not by family headline. EA500H8 lists indoor P1.56, P1.95, P2.6 GOB and P2.97, plus outdoor P2.6, P2.97 and P3.91. Its indoor brightness is 750–800 cd/m², and outdoor brightness is 4500–6000 cd/m², depending on the model. EA1000C6 lists at least 3,840 Hz refresh, 14-bit grayscale and a 140° viewing angle across all listed models, with brightness varying by model. For EA1000C6, the source recommends starting with the closest audience position, screen size and smallest text needed. Confirm the exact quoted pitch, brightness and GOB status for each indoor or outdoor model.

Camera capture needs a test. EA500H8 guidance says to test the screen with the intended camera, shutter speed and brightness setting. EA1000C6 guidance notes that a high refresh rate alone does not guarantee artifact-free footage, because shutter speed, frame rate, scan behaviour and display settings can affect visible bands, and camera distance and angle can affect moiré. Run a camera test at rehearsal with the actual lenses, content and display settings before accepting the wall.

A practical event selection sequence

Start by naming the service route: EA500H8 documents front and rear service access, while EA1000C6 documents rear access through an openable back cover. Ask the supplier to confirm whether the wall can remain rigged during service for the exact installation and rigging method. Next, set the wall geometry. Count columns and rows in the actual cabinet increment: 500×500 mm for EA500H8, or 500×1000 mm for EA1000C6 in the cited upright example. Then decide whether the wall is flat, curved, staggered or mixed. Finally, lock down protection, brightness, spare parts and quote lines for the exact model.

At quotation stage, separate cabinets, control equipment, spares, packaging and freight so you can compare quotes on the same inclusions. That is our buying method, not a manufacturer requirement. EA1000C6 guidance asks for an itemized quote covering those lines. EA500H8 guidance asks for screen dimensions, viewing distance, indoor or outdoor location and flat or curved layout through the quotation form. Use the same inputs for both cabinet formats, then confirm the exact model, pitch, brightness, protection rating, cabinet weight and curve-lock inclusion in the order documents.

Indoor and outdoor event scenarios

For an indoor controlled-light event, both families provide indoor models with IP31 ratings. EA500H8 indoor models cover P1.56, P1.95, P2.6 GOB and P2.97 with 750–800 cd/m² brightness, depending on model. EA1000C6 indoor models are IP31 and brightness varies by model. Confirm the exact pitch and brightness for the room and the camera exposure rather than assuming an indoor label sets the performance.

For an exposed outdoor event, specify the outdoor model on either format. EA500H8 outdoor models cover P2.6, P2.97 and P3.91 with IP65 front and IP54 rear protection and 4500–6000 cd/m² brightness, depending on model; plan protection for rear connections. EA1000C6 outdoor models list IP65 front and IP54 rear, and the source says to confirm installation conditions and weather protection for rear connections. Outdoor cabinet selection should also include the exact cabinet weight, curve hardware if used, and a spare plan for the service route.

Event scenario decisions for EA500H8 and EA1000C6

Scenario Lean toward What to confirm
Front service access EA500H8 Confirm front and rear service, magnetic modules, and whether the wall can remain rigged during service.
Rear access through openable back cover EA1000C6 Confirm rear corridor and service procedure.
Mixed 500×500 and 500×1000 C6 wall EA1000C6 with EA500C6 partner Confirm vertical mixed splicing, matching pitch and configuration.
Mixed H8-family layout EA500H8 Confirm EA500H7, EA500H8V and EA1000H8 connections, pitch and control.
Curved stage wall Either format with quoted curve hardware Confirm EA500H8 angle range and radius or EA1000C6 concave and convex hardware and layout.
Same 4 m × 3 m wall with fewer cabinet rows EA1000C6 Confirm upright orientation and the 24-cabinet example; curved or mixed layouts need separate plan.
Same 4 m × 3 m wall with 500×500 increments EA500H8 Confirm the 48-cabinet example, case layout and spare plan.
Exposed outdoor event Outdoor model of either format Confirm IP65 front, IP54 rear and rear connection protection.

EA1000C6 cabinet count for a 4 m × 3 m upright wall

Illustrative calculation: 8 × 3 = 24 cabinets. Supplied example for upright 500×1000 mm EA1000C6 cabinets in a flat rectangular 4 m × 3 m wall; excludes support structure and curved or mixed layouts.

EA500H8 cabinet count for a 4 m × 3 m flat wall

Illustrative calculation: 8 × 6 = 48 cabinets. Supplied example for 500×500 mm EA500H8 cabinets in a flat rectangular 4 m × 3 m video wall; excludes support structure and curved or mixed layouts.

Buyer checklist

  • Define wall dimensions, upright orientation, and whether the build is flat, curved, staggered or mixed before choosing cabinet height.
  • Choose the service route first: EA500H8 documents front and rear service, while EA1000C6 documents an openable back cover to the power supply; confirm the route in the installed orientation and whether the wall can remain rigged during service.
  • For a mixed 500×500 and 500×1000 wall, name the confirmed partner: EA1000C6 connects with EA500C6, while EA500H8 connects with EA500H7, EA500H8V and EA1000H8; confirm pitch and control compatibility.
  • Confirm curve hardware inclusion and the supported angle or radius for EA500H8, or the concave and convex layout for EA1000C6, before finalising the design.
  • Request exact cabinet weight and loaded flight-case weight; EA500H8 lists 6.3 kg indoors and 6.5 kg outdoors, while EA1000C6 weight is not stated in the supplied passages.
  • Itemize cabinets, control equipment, spares, packaging and freight, and confirm matching spare power supply and receiving card for the quoted cabinet.

Frequently asked questions

For a 4 m × 3 m event wall, how many EA500H8 or EA1000C6 cabinets are needed?

For a flat rectangular 4 m × 3 m wall, the supplied examples give 24 cabinets for upright 500×1000 mm EA1000C6 cabinets and 48 cabinets for 500×500 mm EA500H8 cabinets. Curved or mixed-size layouts need a separate cabinet plan. Confirm the support structure and exact orientation before ordering.

Which cabinet documents front service access, and what should I confirm about servicing a rigged wall?

EA500H8 documents front and rear service using magnetic LED modules and a cabinet designed for access from either side, plus a detachable back cover and power box with quick-release buckle. Plan the access space and confirm the service tools and replacement modules for your selected pitch. Ask the supplier to confirm whether the wall can remain rigged during service. EA1000C6 documents rear access through an openable back cover to the power supply near the service door.

Can EA500H8 and EA1000C6 be mixed in one video wall?

The supplied passages do not document EA500H8 paired with EA1000C6. EA1000C6 connects vertically with EA500C6 500×500 rental LED displays within the C6 series. EA500H8 supports mixed layouts with EA500H7, EA500H8V and EA1000H8 cabinets. Confirm the named partner, pixel pitch and control compatibility before combining formats.

What curve hardware is available for each cabinet?

EA500H8 offers an optional high-precision curve lock; specify curved installation when requesting the quotation and confirm the available angle range and screen radius. EA1000C6 offers optional angle hardware that supports concave and convex LED walls; confirm the required hardware and cabinet layout for the curved stage display.

How does outdoor protection compare?

Both families separate indoor and outdoor models. EA500H8 indoor models are IP31, while outdoor models specify IP65 front and IP54 rear protection and say to plan protection for rear connections. EA1000C6 indoor models are IP31, while outdoor models list IP65 front and IP54 rear and say to confirm installation conditions and weather protection for rear connections.

Which cabinet format is lighter for transport?

EA500H8 lists 6.3 kg indoors and 6.5 kg outdoors for its 500×500 mm cabinet. The supplied EA1000C6 passages reviewed here do not state a cabinet weight for the 500×1000 mm format. Request the exact indoor or outdoor cabinet weight and the loaded flight-case weight before comparing transport plans.

Share your project requirements to request a quote.

Check the details

Sources & references

Source pages can change. Access dates record when they were consulted.

  1. EA1000C6 specs Accessed 30 September 2026
  2. EA500H8 specs Accessed 30 September 2026
  3. EA500C6 specs Accessed 30 September 2026

Put these details into your project brief.

Tell EagerLED the application, destination and screen dimensions you have in mind.

Request a project quote